Maryland Organic Food and Farming Association,
(MOFFA) was established in 1991 as a non-profit organization. We strive to build a sustainable network of individuals and organizations that support small farms, family gardens, and ecologically sound businesses.

From our Articles of Incorporation, MOFFA’s purpose is to:

  • Educate growers, processors, retailers, and consumers about the practices, standards, processes, and promise of organically produced product
  • Provide authorized spokespersons for the industry: to encourage networking, particularly in the areas of information, purchasing, and marketing
  • Establish and articulate priorities for growers
  • Carry out liaison for/with other involved groups/organizations: to decide rules for materials, standards and practices that govern those in the industry
  • Inform and contribute to state regional and national
    practice and policy on farming, and specifically on
    organic farming
  • Recommend appropriate certification procedures: to
    advocate and work to bring about union among consumer,
    producer and distributor of product
  • Keep the public informed by bringing favorable attention
    to the organization and the cause
  • Conduct research concerning the production and handling of organic products.

The primary focus of the organization is Maryland, however regional affiliation and cooperation is encouraged.